### R10/23 'BACK ROAD' COURSE DESCRIPTION

R10/23 START on the B4242 Old Vale of Neath Road at the entrance to F.E. Chick just north-east of Rheola Pond. Proceed south-west on the B4242 to Resolven junction. Continue south-west on the B4242 passing through Abergarwed village and Ynysarwed village to the 'Rock and Fountain' hill, climb and continue to TURN with care at the break in the dual-carriageway opposite the Groundhog factory at Ynysgerwen, SA10 8HH (5.0 miles).

Descend hill and retrace route north-eastwards along the B4242 through Ynysarwed village and Abergarwed village. Continue north-eastwards through Resolven junction and past Rheola Pond to FINISH directly opposite the start.

There is no car parking near the start and to do so will endanger competitors.

### **NOTES TO ALL COMPETITORS**

This event is preceded by the GHS District Championship. Apart from being the South Wales District Championship it is also the qualifier for the National GHS Championship due to be held in early September. Please give these young riders every encouragement and please stay for their award presentation.

Please remember to sign on and look out for any updated safety information!

All competitors must, at all times, obey the rules of the road and the rules of our sport. Please don't take any unnecessary risks and make getting back home to your families your first priority and a fast time your second priority. Keep your head up and have a safe and speedy ride.

The CTT, the South Wales Police and the event organiser all strongly recommend the use of Snell/ANSI helmets (compulsory for all riders under 18 years of age).

## RACE H.Q. – GLYNNEATH LEISURE CENTRE, CHAIN ROAD, GLYNNEATH, SA11 5HW

The headquarters will be open at about 13.00hrs and race numbers will be available from about 13.15hrs.

You'll get to the event via the A465 and McDonalds<sup>TM</sup> have very conveniently placed a restaurant at the Blaengwrach roundabout (SA11 5NZ) on the A465 where you need to turn towards Glynneath and then the HQ is the first main turning right.

Getting to the start is a doddle. Go back to the road where you turned in to get to the Leisure Centre and turn right (i.e. away from Mickey D's) then immediately left onto the B4242. It's about two miles so a 15mph plod will take you eight minutes so allow at least ten minutes.

Please take care when warming-up and avoid turning in the road. Competitors are not allowed to pass the start until they actually start the event.

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

# PORT TALBOT WHEELERS C.C.

Founded 1926

### PRESENT AN OPEN 10 MILE TIME-TRIAL



"The unofficial Veteran's World Championships"



Saturday, May 7<sup>TH</sup>, 2016 starting at 14.12hrs on the R10/23 'Back Road'

(Preceded by the GHS District Championship, starting at 14.08hrs)

Headquarters - Glynneath Leisure Centre, SA11 5HW

# **AWARDS LIST**

Fastest Rider - £30 Fastest Vet on Std - £20

2<sup>nd</sup> Fastest - £20 2<sup>nd</sup> Vet on Std - £15

3<sup>rd</sup> Fastest - £10 3<sup>rd</sup> Vet on Std - £10

Fastest Lady - £15 Team of 3 Riders - £30

Fastest Junior Girl - £10 Fastest Junior Boy - £10

Strictly one prize per rider (except team) but 'unused' prizes will be passed down!

#### TIMEKEEPERS

NORMAN JAMES – OGMORE VALLEY WHS TUDOR THOMAS – BYNEA CC

EVENT SECRETARY
ALF WILLIAMS
25 TAN-Y-GROES STREET
PORT TALBOT
SA13 1EL



01639 - 770581

No.	NAME	CLUB / TEAM	CAT		START
8	JOSHUA TARLING	WEST WALES CRT	B12	GHS	14:08
9	SAMUEL REAKES	BYNEA CC	B15	GHS	14:09
10	MORGAN JONES	CWMCARN PARAGON	B16	GHS	14:10

				1	•
No.	NAME	CLUB / TEAM	CAT	VET/STD	START
12	WENDY LACEY	PORT TALBOT WHS	LV58	29:38	14:12
13	SCOTT PHILLIPS	BYNEA CC	V48	26:36	14:13
14	CHRIS 'CJ' JONES	PORT TALBOT WHS	V52	26:54	14:14
15	DANIEL GOUGH	SWANSEA UNI CT			14:15
16	NEALE LEWIS	ACME WHS CC	V43	26:13	14:16
17	HOWELL MASON	OGMORE VALLEY WHS	V61	27:44	14:17
18	ROBERT JONES	CARDIFF 100 MILES RCC	V64	28:06	14:18
19	DAI TRIGGS	PORT TALBOT WHS	V72	29:26	14:19
20	IOAN SMALLWOOD	CARDIFF AJAX CC			14:20
21	STUART EVANS	PORT TALBOT WHS	V70	29:02	14:21
22	MIKE BROADBENT	SWANSEA WHS	V55	27:09	14:22
23	STEPHEN LANDEG	OGMORE VALLEY WHS	V62	27:51	14:23
24	TONY HOWELL	PORT TALBOT WHS	V51	26:50	14:24
25	GRAEME BOSWELL	CARDIFF AJAX CC	V41	26:04	14:25
26	NICHOLAS MORGAN	TAPITOUT CC	V40	25:59	14:26
27	ANDREW HAYWARD	CWMCARN PARAGON RC	V44	26:18	14:27
28	ROBERT LUCAS	PORT TALBOT WHS	V68	28:42	14:28
					<u> </u>

No.	NAME	CLUB / TEAM	CAT	VET/STD	START
29	HOLLIE LABUNSKY	PORT TALBOT WHS	L		14:29
30	CHRISTOPHER GIBBARD	BYNEA CC			14:30
31	NIC CLEAVE	SWANSEA WHS	V43	28:13	14:31
32	ANTHONY REDMAN	ACME WHS CC			14:32
33	JONATHAN HEATH	BRECON WHEELERS			14:33
34	MORGAN LEY	PORT TALBOT WHS	JUN		14:34
35	CHRIS MASSEY	TEAM BOTTRILL	V43	28:13	14:35
36	DAVID MEDHURST	CARDIFF AJAX CC			14:36
37	JOHN SHEHAN	BYNEA CC	V70	29:02	14:37
38	RON BOAST	OGMORE VALLEY WHS	V64	28:06	14:38
39	AWEN LEWIS	PORT TALBOT WHS	JUN		14:39
40	CHRISTOPHER JONES	RIDE BIKE WALES	V47	26:32	14:40
41	ROD HICKS	PORT TALBOT WHS	V51	26:50	14:41
42	MATTHEW SMITH	PORT TALBOT WHS			14:42
43	JOSHUA LEWIS	BIKE DOCTOR			14:43
44	MICHAEL TARLING	WEST WALES CRT	V40	25:59	14:44
45	LYN JONES	EC CYCLES	V42	26:09	14:45
46	ROB JONES	CARDIFF AJAX CC			14:46
47	ROSS MORGAN	ACME WHS CC			14:47
48	ALEXANDER JENKINS	BYNEA CC	V40	25:59	14:48
49	LES THOMAS	PORT TALBOT WHS	V54	27:04	14: 49
50	LUKE DIX	CARDIFF JIF			14:50