Welsh 100 Mile Time Trial Championship 2012 for Men and Women



Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials Under their rules and regulations

Promoted by the

Welsh Cycling Association

On Sunday 1st July 2012

Course R100/1

Official Result

Men's Champion	Dean Lubin	PCA Ciclos Uno	4:05:18	Championship Cap; C W Alexander Book (for one year); WCA Plaque & Invitation to Welsh BAR Lunch
Women's Champion	Sarah Lloyd- Stephens	Hereford & Dist. Whs. CC	4:58:09	Championship Cap; Championship Trophy (for one year); WCA Plaque & Invitation to Welsh BAR Lunch
Team Champions	Tenby Aces CC	Oliver Simon Nick Brown David Francis	13:00:40	Championship Shield (for one year); WCA Plaques & Invitations to Welsh BAR Lunch

Other Awards

2 nd Fastest Man	Oliver Simon	Tenby Aces CC	4:08:39	WCA Plaque
3 rd Fastest Man	Gareth Bowyer	Rhos On Sea CC	4:09:34	WCA Plaque
Greatest Improvement in the Last Three Seasons	Stuart Birnie	Willesden CC	08:31	WCA Plaque
Fastest Vet. On Standard	Nick Brown	Tenby Aces CC	+47:02	WCA Plaque

Welsh Points Competition

Points are awarded in all the Welsh Championships (10, 25, 50, 100, 12 Hour and Hill Climb) to riders from clubs affiliated to the Welsh Cycling Association. Riders in all Welsh Championship events count to the final total and awards are made to the six riders with the highest score.

The full result of this event is published on www.southwalesdc.co.uk

Your Timekeepers were:

Principal Timekeeper:- Norman James Ogmore Valley Whs.

Assistant Timekeepers:-

Brecon Turn:- Robin Field Cardiff Byways CC

Abergwili Turn:- Dave Brice Bynea CC

Pusher Off:

Paul Robinson Ystwyth CC

Marshals:

Llandeilo Roundabout:

Alf Williams Port Talbot Whs.

Peter Jones Port Talbot Whs

Llandovery Town:

Paul Robinson Ystwyth CC

Keith Hyatt Anfield BC

Brecon West Roundabout

Robin Field Cardiff Byways CC

Abergwili East Roundabout:

John Shehan Bynea CC

Nic Forbes Bynea CC

Dave Brice Bynea CC

Catering:

Frances Field Cardiff Byways CC

Marilyn Shehan Bynea CC

Promoter on the day:-

Dave Brice Bynea CC

Congratulations to all the prize-winners on their achievements. This is the first

time that I can remember the Welsh Championship 100 being held 'down west'

and from comments I received from you the event went well – apart from the

wind!

Some riders felt that the course may be better if it was rearranged; going from the

start straight to Abergwili and then the long leg up to Brecon, retracing to

Llandeilo r/a and then to finish at the same spot. I shall discuss this with the DC

Committee to see if there are any external aspects e.g. timings at level crossing

at Llandovery which would not make this possible.

I have not been able to chase up the Champions' Caps yet but they will be

obtained: you have my word on that.

Many thanks to all the helpers who made the event the success it was but I must

especially thank David Brice for agreeing to open up the hall and starting the

event for me - saving me a great deal of travelling.

The Welsh CA is a fundamentally important part of time trialling in Wales and

long may it continue. With a little bit of help from about 10 – 15 people in Wales

its future will be assured. Could you be 'one of fifteen'?

Robin.

The Welsh Time Trial Champions will be presented with their trophies

at the Annual Welsh BAR Lunch. Sunday 4 November 2012 at the

Hawthorn Leisure Centre.

Event Secretary:

Robin Field. 89 Velindre Road, Whitchurch, Cardiff. CF14 2TG

Tel: 02920 632358. Mobile 07753 603098

E-mail: robin.field@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk