Welsh 100 Mile Time Trial Championship 2018 for Men and Women



Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials Under their rules and regulations

Promoted by the

Welsh Cycling Association

On Sunday 02 September 2018

Course R100/8B (Emergency)

Official Result

Men's Champion	Kieron Davies	DRAG2ZERO	3:20:17 (Welsh Comp Record)	Championship Cap; C W Alexander Book (for one year); WCA Medallion & Invitation to Welsh BAR Lunch
Women's Champion	Vicky Jowett	Plymouth Corinthian	4:06:37	Championship Cap; Championship Trophy (for one year); WCA Medallion & Invitation to Welsh BAR Lunch
Team Champions	Team Backstedt Bike Performance	Dean Ware Steven Powell Michiel Vaal	11:28:22	Championship Shield (for one year); WCA Medallions & Invitations to Welsh BAR Lunch

Other Awards

2 nd Fastest Man	Conrad Moss	Mid Devon CC	3:28:01	WCA Medallion
3 rd Fastest Man	Christopher Gibbard	Bynea CC	3:34:40	WCA Medallion
Greatest Improvement in the Last Three Seasons	Emma Wheeler	CMC Llandeilo CC	33:04	WCA Medallion
Fastest Vet. On Standard	Conrad Moss	Mid Devon CC	+1:21:25	WCA Medallion

Welsh Points Competition

Points are awarded in all the Welsh Championships (10, 25, 30, 50, 100, 12 Hour and Hill Climb) to riders from clubs affiliated to the Welsh Cycling Association. Riders in all Welsh Championship events count to the final total and awards are made to the six riders with the highest score.

The full result of this event is published on www.southwalesdc.co.uk

Your Timekeepers were:

Start Timekeeper: - Robin Field Cardiff Byways CC
50 Mile Timekeeper: - Norman James Ogmore Valley Whs.
Finish Timekeeper: - Robin Field Cardiff Byways CC

Recorder: - Frances Field Cardiff Byways CC

Pusher Off:

Ian Smith CC Cardiff (Welsh CA)

Marshals:

Monmouth Tunnels/Garage:

Will Bevan (after posting a DNF), James Coull, Catalin Patrichi Ross-on-

Wye & Dist. Whs CC

Motorised Observer (Draft Busting)

John Shehan Bynea CC

Computer Data Entry

Frances Field Cardiff Byways CC

Routing Crew

John Shehan and yours truly

Catering:

Sharon Preddy Catering

Other Welsh Championships still to come:-

Welsh CA 30 (Welsh Championship) Course R30/7 Sat 15 September. Event Sec. Martyn Heritage-Owen (NEW CHAMPIONSHIP)

Welsh CA 50 (Welsh Championship) Course R50/1b Sun 30 September. Event Sec. Martyn Heritage-Owen

Welsh CA Hill Climb (Welsh Championship) RH/10X Sun 14 October. Event Sec.

Robin Field

When the going gets tough.....and as far as the organising side it was the

toughest ever (ok finding a new HQ a week before plus a plane crash on A40

closing the road the afternoon before the National 12 2 yrs ago runs it close).

However, we ended up with a good course, kind weather, 35 improvements over

Last Three Seasons and lots of happy smiling faces. Next year this event will

move to July and this weekend will revert to The Welsh 12hr.

Thanks again to Ian (Miffy) Smith for pushing off. The Ross-On-Wye club for the

continued marshalling at Monmouth. John Shehan who kept a close eye on riding

conduct and took most of the signs down for me and my wife Frances for her

continued and valuable support; I could not do it without you my darling.

I hope Glenda's car is now working and Gareth Hill's wife is getting better.

Finally, a big thank you to Sharon Preddy and Martin Heritage-Owen for the

catering.

Robin.

The Welsh Time Trial Champions and all Medallion winners (including

Celtic Series prizewinners) will be presented with their awards at the

Annual Welsh BAR Lunch. Sunday 4 November 2018 at the TRW

Club Resolven. Tickets are available from me at the discounted price

of £12.50

Event Secretary:

Robin Field. 89 Velindre Road, Whitchurch, Cardiff. CF14 2TG

Tel: 02920 632358. Mobile 07753 603098

E-mail: robin.field@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk